Creating a Test Input File

Hey all,

I'm currently a student in college, taking the first of many programming classes. So far I understand c++ a good amount and am catching on pretty quick. BUT we got this assignment and I honestly don't quite understand it. I also just want to say that I'm not here for a quick answer. I just would like some help with explaining it so I can better understand how to start and what to actually do. Some hints and help, kinda like an online tutor. I decided to post the whole thing so you could see what exactly is going on.. sorry for the length.

So I understand he's asking us to make a "test input file" using a txt editor, but all I really understand is that the program will be reading the txt file. I don't get how to calculate what he's asking or really quite how to make it..
So any help to get the ball rolling would be greatly appreciated! :)

Assignment
A project is comprised of one or more sequential phases. Each phase is comprised of one or more
tasks. Each phase must be completed before the next one can begin. However, the different tasks
belonging to a single phase can be carried out concurrently. The time it takes to complete a phase
is the time needed to complete the longest task in that phase.
You are to write a program that analyzes the phases of a project and provides a summary of the
time frames for the phases and the entire project.
The program will read the information regarding the project phases and tasks from an input file.
The output of the program should be directed to the standard output device.

The Input File
You are to create a test input file using a standard text editor. Each line of the file contains an
phase number, a task number, and the number of days required to complete the task. All values
should be integers and the values on each line should be separated by a space.
The data are stored such that all the tasks for phase 1 are followed by all the tasks for phase 2, and so on.