Beginners - January 2008

C++ help for a beginner

I am VERY new to C++ and was wondering if someone could help me write this program. I am trying to find the area and perimeter of a rectangle. The length is 1...
[3 replies] Last: hazda and chris thanks for all the help and explanations. I came up... (by mykel3227)
Search within lines/Count specific lines

An assignment I am currently doing for my class involves transcribing lines of a text file to another while numbering lines with executable code and not numberi...
[4 replies] Last: Don't forget the case where comments span multiple line with /* */ a... (by mjf55)
How do I pause the program?

I was wondering if it is possible to make a program pause for a second or two. If so, how would I do that? Edit: And I have 1 more question I just thought of...
[2 replies] Last: after you make a return statement, the fucntion is stopped, no matter ... (by a n chatterjee)
Compiling with Emacs

Well, i'm on Windows running Emacs 22.1. I've written a program, but i can't figure out how i'm supposed to compile it. When i try to compile, it says make -k...
[2 replies] Last: My professor wants me to use Emacs, and i haven't had a chance to burn... (by JeremiahGuy)
closed!

not question needed anymore
[4 replies] Last: skfsfs (by Kittyangel28)
Copy Constructor Help

I am having a real problem completely understand what a copy constructor is and how to write it. I understand the concept of having a function that can create d...
[1 reply] : I may have made a bit of progress but im unsure if its right. Check or... (by Midknight5)
Level of knowledge

Hi there, I would like to know how advanced will my knowledge of C++ be, when I would read through all the tutorials on this site. Are there all functions of...
[9 replies] Last: Actually, I started with C++ also because of PC games, also because I ... (by Oliwerko)
Text 2 Binary