Beginners - June 2015

New to C++, Code Does not Function as Expected

Hello, I have never posted to a forum before as I am completely new to the c++ world. I have been playing around with IF ELSE and DO WHILE statements. I wro...
[5 replies] Last: Thank you! That did it! (by Abbynormal)
by Tarbal
pass string to double

I have a string containing "EoGUESS = 1e10" How can I pass 1e10 to double EoGUESS?
[15 replies] Last: Wow, thanks Andy. I'm not sure I understand everything here, since I j... (by Tarbal)
by plh
Whole number to decimals

I am writing a c++ program to turn a number into coins. I got the program written and it works perfect if the input is in decimal form. i.e .87 for 87 cents. Ho...
[2 replies] Last: YOu want just 87 for 87 cents? Just don't multiply input by 100. (by MiiNiPaa)
Help with program C++

Hi guys, my teacher asked for a program to count all words that contain 3,4,5,6 letters in them . he asked to use nested sentinel-controled loops and filein.get...
[4 replies] Last: Ok, that's a start. It's a little bit tricky reading strings from a f... (by kbw)
Expected unqualified-id: Fuel usage program

The premise of this problem is to calculate the fuel used based on a user input fuel efficiency (in this case 45 mpg) and the miles driven (also input by user, ...
[1 reply] : Line 10: Odometer is a class name. You can't set a class name to 0. Y... (by AbstractionAnon)
a program for products

hey guys we were asked to do this project in my collage it's about the products of a market the problem i am facing in the code is that when i am filling t...
[12 replies] Last: done thanks for your responses (by Mahmoud Mansour)
by ShonH
Syntax namepsace:class(method):a(method)

Could someone explain this syntax in a simple matter? Thanks in advance! I am only guessing that's a method in the parenthesis, and the 'a' I have no idea wh...
[2 replies] Last: I was referring the 'a' to the one in the title. I should have kept th... (by ShonH)
Getline Question