while and if , else combination

sir i'm a newbie user here and i'm also a student of IT and i'm a having a problem about this while and if , else combination i really have a problem focusing on while statements because i don't understand it's syntax especially after the condition please just guide me on how to this
Last edited on
thanks for the reply LB you've been most helpful but i really don't understand reading stuffs especially when it comes to C++ can you give me an example of this ? If u can't its okay
There are examples on that link, I don't understand what you expect me to give you as an example.
loops and decisions work on a single statement.

you can get them to work on lots of statements by "grouping" them together in { } to create a "compound" statement.

the while loop is the simplest loop in c++

while (something is true)
      do this statement;

while (something is true)
{
      do this statement;
      and this statement;
      and this one too;
}

the if statement is just as simple

if (something is true)
      do this statement;
else
      do this statement;

if (something is true)
{
      do this statement;
      and this statement;
      and this one too;
}
else
{
      do this statement;
      and this statement;
      and this one too;
}

the "else" part is optional

if (something is true)
      do this statement;

if (something is true)
{
      do this statement;
      and this statement;
      and this one too;
}
dear LB , my teacher gave me this problem "Using while and if/else statement create a program that will summarize the exam's result prompt the user to input the number of students , next to their names is written "1" if the student pass and "0" if fail
i really don't know how to start , because i'm having problems understanding while statements but if/else there's no problem