Is It Really Possible to Learn C++ without knowing the details of C?

Hi,
I would know what you think about this.

There seems to be an idea that C++ can hide the details of C, to the point that many details can be overlooked.

That is right in principle but at some poi cout doesn't suffice, if you make a parser or some other details management tool.

Also hiding after understanding is different than hiding before understanding.

What is your opinion?

Thanks
There are now immense differences between C and C++, especially in the way you think and the way you write code. I have been studying C++ passionately for 5 years, and I can't write in C worth a darn.
Hi,
thanks for the reply.

The point I was at is :

Hiding after understanding is different than hiding before understanding.

Or would I need to be library dependent for everything?
Last edited on
Hi,
I do not understand:
I got this reply by email:
Thread: "Is It Really Possible to Learn C++ without knowing the details of C?"
Reply by: "Computergeek01"
Time of reply: Apr 4, 2014 at 4:42pm UTC

------------------------------------------------------------
I think for the first few years that it is beneficial for a student to
learn C++ as if it were a stand alone language. Like LB said,
there are so many drastic differences in the way you think between the
two languages that there is no benefit to learning C first if you're
primarily going to be working in C++.

First let's get rid of the notion that C++ is C with a bunch of added
bells and whistles. C++ is a separate language that happens to be
mostly compatible with C. Let's look at some examples:

1.) C has no concept of overloading and in fact it relies on
you to manage the names of all of your functions and data
members to make sure they are unique. C++ is going to mangle function
names even if it has no reason to and gives you namespaces to manage
the data types.

2.) The concept of polymorphism is a very powerful feature in C++ and