Private vs. Public data members

Hi everyone,

I am a beginner in C++ and in programming but I have a general question to experienced C++ programmers. I would really appreciate to get your opinion on a few considerations.

It seems that there are more or less strict rules about whether to keep data members private or public. I was told that the data should be stricly private in order to protect it from misbeheaving users and provide public functions to access and modify it. I understand why, I see the risks of allowing free access to a class' data. Although, from my very poor experience in programming, I noticed that there are a bunch of ways in which data needs to be accessed and/or modified through non-member functions and other classes, and sometimes the quantity of data represented in a class is large, and providing ways for accessing every part of it seems like an absurd task and a waste of time, since we know that the main purpose of the data is to be changed.

So here are basically my questions: isn't it as risky and error prone to give access to data through functions than through immediate access to the data member itself? Why do we do it? Isn't it much more logical and economical in code to simply access the data member as public?

Thanks
Typically, it is good practice to give as little access as possible, especially if you're just going to let others use your code.
The person using your class may know how to use a member, but they could inadvertently do something invalid with it.

If you want to allow access to see the value of something but not modify it, you can use a 'getter'

If you want to allow access to set the value of something but have control over how it is modified, you can use a 'setter'

Both of those are with member functions.
Even the standard library makes use of these, like doing string.length(), instead of allowing direct modification of that variable, since doing so in the wrong context could have quite negative results.