How do events actually work?

As a C# programmer I know about events. Creating delegates and so forth. But how do events actually work? What I mean is the actual underlying mechanism. So when you click your mouse on a file, what actually happens? It is the same with graphics, it is like magic. I imagine it is a bunch of code that references memory in C/C++. I know in today's world of programming nobody really thinks about this, but what would C/C++ code look like with no API/includes. Just raw code to determine an event. Or in other words, when the mouse was first invented and it took code to trigger an event, of clicking a folder/file. What would that C/C++ code look like?
Hi,

There are things called Design Patterns - they are a very valuable tool.

For events there is this:
http://www.marco.panizza.name/dispenseTM/slides/exerc/eventNotifier/eventNotifier.html

There are many Design Patterns and combinations of them - Google it :+)
> But how do events actually work? What I mean is the actual underlying mechanism.

Some component detects that something of interest has occurred (eg. the component that handles mouse input detects that a button has been clicked) and then calls a function to notify other components which have expressed an interest in the event.

> but what would C/C++ code look like with no API/includes. Just raw code to determine an event.

As an example, if the event of interest is that the value of an integer member has changed, something like this (no includes other than <iostream>; that is there only so that we can see that events are being delivered):
#include <iostream>

struct event
{
    using event_type = void(int) ;

event& operator += ( event_type* fn )
    {
        for( auto& p : call_backs ) if( p == nullptr ) { p = fn ; break ; }
        return *this ;
    }

void operator() ( int v ) const
    { for( auto& p : call_backs ) if(p) p(v) ; else break ; }

static constexpr std::size_t MAX_LISTENERS = 128 ;