Debugging

Hi, I have written a simple C++ program to read a string and output only even words. For example, in the first sentence, the output should be "I written simple program read string output even." It's executing but it's not taking input correctly. Even after I enter a string and hit enter, it just stops there and doesn't do anything. Here it is:

#include<iostream.h>
#include<iomanip.h>
#include<conio.h>
#include<string.h>
void main()
{
char s[100],t[100][100];
int i,j;
clrscr();
cout<<"Enter the string: ";
cin.getline(s,100);
for(i=0;i<100;i++)
for(j=0;s[j]!=char(32);j++)
t[i][j]=s[j];
for(i=1;i<100;i+2)
{
for(j=0;j<100;j++)
s[j]=t[i][j];
s[j]=char(32);
}
cout<<"The new string is: ";
for(i=0;i<100;i++)
cout<<s[i];
cout<<endl;
getch();
}

Check if something needs to be corrected. Please keep it simple as I'm a beginner. There may be a better program using complicated things, but try to modify the above program itself.
' ' is space. char(32) is harder to read, not everyone memorized the ascii table.

void main isnt legal. main shall be of type int, and shall return 0 upon successful completion.

<iostream>, <iomanip>, <cstring> are the modern headers, unsure about conio

i think you want i+= 2 in the for loop

And I think that last one is your actual error. It would loop forever because i never changes.

Your code looks like what i grew up on ... you want to learn the c++ type string sooner rather than later. Are you using a 30 year old book?

Last edited on
The code bears all the signs of Turbo C++ which is an obsolete program originally for DOS, then later for Windows 3.1.

I'm aware that it is still used in some educational courses, but aside from that it should not be used at all. Some modern (or reasonably so) C++compilers/IDEs are covered at the start of the tutorial pages:
http://www.cplusplus.com/doc/tutorial/introduction/
- Read the warnings
|| foo.cpp: In function ‘int main()’: