Beginner Question

Hey so im new at c++...i'm not too sure on how to make a program where the user inputs a number and the number is added by a another fixed number.. lets say 2.
for example. if a user inputs a number 5, the program then displays all the sequence of the number after each addition of 2 starting from 5+2, (5+2)+2, (5+2+2)+2, and so forth. I'm stuck.. can someone please give me an example of the source code..

#include <iostream>
#include <cmath>
using namespace std;

int main ( ){

int num, new_num;

cout << "Enter number: ";
cin >> num ;

new_num = num + 2;

cout << new_num;

// how to add 2 after the new_num? i want to do this repetitively ( 30 times ) . Do i make a new variable 30 times? or is there any easier way?

}
If you want to repeat a set of instructions, you should use a loop. Since you want to repeat a fixed number of times, a for loop would be best. It's one of the basic control structures in C++, so your textbook should explain it, if you don't know about loops already.
Some things are too small to explain without doing it for you.

you can do it in a loop:

new_num = num; //don't forget this step
for(int j = 0; j < 30; j++)
//syntax: for (initial condition; until condition; code that usually makes the condition happen)
new_num += 2;

or you can be a smart* and say
new_num += 2*30; // point being that looping when you don't need to is not a great idea.
//but you will need to know how to loop, the times when it can be avoided are few.

Last edited on
jonnin wrote:
or you can be a smart* and say
new_num += 2*30;
SyasyAwesome wrote:
the program then displays all the sequence of the number after each addition of 2

It's not going to be possible to display the result of each consecutive addition, if you just leap to the end by adding 60.

BTW, jonnin, is there a reason you don't use code tags? You've surely been here long enough to be aware of them, and it would make your code so much easier to read.