General gui design workflow for newbie

My question on Stackoverflow was blocked/closed/whatever because it was to unspecific but as a newbie I feel the need to ask for the bigger picture rather than for a specific task or problem.

I have a webdevelopment background and therefor when it comes to designing a userinterface I have a specific mindset. I can just place inputs anywhere in my markup whose behaviour is handled by the browser or I can layout divs add interactive functionality with eventlisteners in javascript and style everything rather easily with css.

So with that background, how is gui design approached in c++? I know that there are libraries but I can't wrap my head around how that's working.
How do I make use of a specific lib?
How do I place ui element ABC (checkbox for example) at ui position XYZ.
How are these elements styled like background-color, border-width, border-radius and so on....
Can ui design only be made with a specific wysiwyg application?

I want to modify and expand open source software projects to my likings, learn as I go and maybe even contribute to these projects at some point.
Ideally I would stay away from using an IDE for couple of reasons.
a) I'm comfortable with my editor
b) I wanna learn the mechanics myself in depth and not have some software do the work for me, so that I understand the topic independently of some hocus pocus IDE magic.

Can you guys share knowledge or point to resources that teach ui programming for my specific background and intentions?
closed account (E0p9LyTq)
The C++ standard doesn't support GUIs, you need a third party library for that.

Are you wanting to develop for a specific platform? Or cross-development that would compile for multiple platforms?

I suggest you do some internet searching for GUI frameworks and look at the documentation.
As a first step I want to stick with Linux exclusively.

FurryGuy wrote: