Reverse the string.

I'm a beginner in c++ and my new teacher has given me a project on strrev.
I am supposed to write a code with : char *strrev(char *s), which reverses the string order but the last character "0" should stay still. Function returns line s. Say, "Hello1234567890" shoould return "987654321olleH0".
Please help.
Last edited on
Hi, firstly I need more informations.

which reverses the string order but the last character "0" should stay still.

When you say the last character "0" are you talking about the last character stored in the variable OR are you talking about the terminator character '\0' because in c++ there is a character at the end of your char* to delimitate the end of your string but this character is hidden.

The convention that a null, ('\0', numeric value 0) marks the end of data in array of characters is called "C-string", for it is prevalent in C language. The C++ has in its Standard Library std::string, which provides much simpler user interface to "strings" than the C's functions that operate on "C-strings".

There is an another question though (just to be sure):
Does the strrev() modify the array into which the s points to?

If yes, then the return value (a pointer) of the function has the same value as the input parameter s.
If not, then the function must dynamically allocate memory for the C-string that it will return.

In any case, the main purpose of homework is to learn by doing things yourself. It is now your turn to make an effort because we cannot help you with the errors that you have not made.
Background on why I am asking this on this site: