is there a built in method for detecting outliers ?

Pages: 12
Hello everyone, I am new to c++ and I need your help :)

When I was using a matlab, I was using the method "filloutliers". I was wondering if there is something similiar like that in c++ ?

In other words, I want to know if there is any sort of a built-in method in a certain library that detect outliers in a data set and replace them ?

Thanks in advance
not in pure c++.
there is probably a statistical library that will do it, or you may need to write one. Also, matlab can export c++ code, but its terribly slow and uses a black box library.
Last edited on
The C++ Standard Library does contain some generic algorithms. The thing you seek is specific; not in standard.

There are third-party libraries and toolboxes that provide more specific algorithms. For example, the Wikipedia page about Matlab states that Matlab is written in "C, C++, Java". In other words Matlab's filloutliers could have been implemented with C++.

There are many third-party libraries. Quick search hits:
http://linasm.sourceforge.net/docs/api/statistics.php
https://www.gnu.org/software/gsl/doc/html/
(The GSL is C, but can be called from C++ code.)

I have no idea whether the exact algorithm you seek has already been written by anyone else than Matlab.

There is a balance between the use of a tool that already does a thing right and the reinvention of a wheel.
@jonnin, well i do not have the matlab coder kit anyways so it would not work. Are you familiar with any statistical libraries that i can refer to ? Thanks
@keskiverto, you are absolutely right. However, I am still in the learning beginner phase. I would have checked how it is done .. try to understand it and maybe make my own for the sake of fun of it .