General C++ Programming - September 2018 (Page 9)

Nested Classes and Thrown Beer

I'm sitting in the local pub, one of my co-workers just stormed out after throwing her beer on my other co-worker. Monday morning is going to suck. The definiti...
[5 replies] Last: I would nest classes if the inner class were inherently part of the ou... (by doug4)
Understanding of the polymorphic behavior in case of custom exceptions

Why does the 2nd std::cout in the below code prints the "std::exception" and not "Ooops!"? As per my understanding, since ooops class is derived from std::exce...
[1 reply] : Like the comment says: throw can make a copy. The p is a std::excepti... (by keskiverto)
by elsa
Data Structures: need help fleshing out my functions

This assignment has me flustered with nowhere to go -- confusing to the extreme. I'm a novice to data structures, and this week's homework assignment has me los...
[2 replies] Last: Check your text book and look at what a linked list is. (by DefinitelyNotPalpatine)
Extract value from key-value pair in substring

Hi, I have a very large std::string (~500,000 characters) and need to extract certain smaller strings out of it (but only the value in a key-value pair). For e...
[1 reply] : Do you mean something like this? #include <iostream> #include <stri... (by tpb)
extern "C"

Hello everyone, maybe it's a stupid question but in interrupt handling function I can't rewrite a variable. I'm sure that the interrupt is triggered and assigns...
[3 replies] Last: initialise it first, then you'll know for sure if the ISR was called. ... (by Jaybob66)
by volang
Char array, extra garbage from buffer

I create an char array (my_c_array) of size 50, then I read in exactly 50 char from a buffer... Now I wonder...Why do I get extra garbage charecters when I d...
[10 replies] Last: Thanks man, appreciate it (by volang)
Creating an Application Logfile