• Forum
  • Lounge
  • How long have you been programming (hobb

How long have you been programming (hobby or professionally)

Once upon a time, when Cheraphy was a young lad, he wanted to be a writer. He wrote many a short story, riddled with plot holes and bad grammar, but that's ok. He was 10 going on 11. Eventually he had the urge to make a game of his fantasies, so his father bought him a book on Dark Basic and taught him about logic gates. He was hooked immediately. In the 11 years since he has programmed to an almost religious extent.

I am this cheraphy, and I have been programming for half my life. I realized that this morning.
I starting programming at about 14. At least, I was 14 when I joined this forum. I think I'd been trying to learn C++ for a few months before that. It was my first language so it took a long time before I started to really "get" it. I've never put as much effort into anything as I put into learning C++.

I started coding with HTML, CSS and maybe Javascript at about 12 or 13. I think the reason I started learning C++ was because someone on Counter-Strike told me it was the language hackers use. I also wrote a lot of Batch scripts around the same time, but those were exclusively of the annoying ":loop; start notepad.exe; goto loop" variety.
Twenty years. Started in BASIC when I was 13. I've covered my background before so not going to go through it again. I will mention I have been learning Cobol and have set aside resources (books) to learn Ada, Fortran, and Pascal.
I learnt basic C++ about 10 years ago (with the intention to write games), but then took a long break until about 2011. I've looked with mild interest at some other languages in the last few years, python, javascript, HTML, Java for example, but nothing seems as fluid or natural as C++ to me. I guess it's my programming 'mother tongue'.
closed account (D80DSL3A)