Sometimes I like C++ just fine

And sometimes I want it to burn to a very nice crisp. That and everything it ever touched.

Just hit this ADL problem:
https://quuxplusone.github.io/blog/2018/06/17/std-size/

yay.

’Cause, you know, given the choice between two (or more) ADL matches, the compiler doesn’t think to choose from the explicitly active namespace...
In 20 years, I run into this problem exactly one time.
What’s your point?

The idea itself is only about 15 years old, and C++ didn't have it before 2011.

For your reference, I’ve been hacking for about 30 years, not quite half of that in C++.

ADL is a nice idea... until the Standard Library decides to use up all the common identifiers...

[edit]
It occurs to me that I am probably reading you wrong.

You’re probably saying, "Yeah, that’s an odd problem that likes to bite when you aren’t looking...”, and I’m all, “FLAME ON!”

Sorry. Flame off.

Last edited on
My point is, that I have only one problem with ADL since I programm in C/C++. So it can not be such a big problem ;)
I started reading the article you linked, and was like "wait how is this ADL, it's just because you injected size into the global namespace", but then I understood once I go this paragraph:
So the author tried replacing using namespace std; with a list of explicit using-directives. Unfortunately, this doesn’t help. We’re getting something we don’t expect out of namespace std, but it’s not because we using the namespace. It’s because of argument-dependent lookup (ADL). We made an unqualified call to size, where one of the arguments was a std::vector. This unqualified call, by ADL, naturally finds any function named size in any associated namespace of the argument type std::vector (and, incidentally, also considers namespace hr, although this has been widely regarded as a bad move.)