Cheap Compiler?

Hi guys, noobie programmer here. I just started learning C++ on my own and was using a trial version of Visual studio for the past month however the trial is about to run out and from what I can tell the cheapest version of visual studio is over $400.

Can anyone recommend a significantly cheaper but still good compiler for a beginner?

Thanks.
Code::Blocks and MinGW are very good for both professionals and beginners.

Visual C++ IS NOT C++. it is C++/CLI, which is a different language.

http://www.codeblocks.org/
@IWishIKnew,

Visual C++ is actually just Microsoft's IDE for use of C, C++ and C++/CLI. So what OP is learning is very much so C++. C++/CLI is C++/CLI.
Most IDEs and Compilers are free. Even with Visual Studio you can get Visual C++ Express from Microsoft for free and this will be fine.

Alternatively you can use:
EclipseCDT, Code::Blocks, NetBeans, (plus many more)
ResidentBiscuit:
Visual C++ is actually just Microsoft's IDE for use of C, C++ and C++/CLI. So what OP is learning is very much so C++. C++/CLI is C++/CLI.

I never said he wasn't, or that C++/CLI was not C++/CLI.

Microsoft's VC++ is extremely complicated to install, and use. It also takes up a lot of disk space as opposed to Code::Blocks/MinGW.

He's only a beginner, so I do not recommend VC++ for those reasons, and based on my own personal experience as a newbie 2 years ago trying to install the infernal thing. I also understand it is a trial version...

Code::Blocks/MinGW was pretty easy to install, and the use of it is fairly straight forward. It also is not very heavy on diskspace compared to VC++.
Last edited on
I'd also recommend Code::Blocks, and I do have one of the paid for and expensive versions of Visual Studio. I much prefer using CodeBlocks.
I've never had issues installing VC++ and have done at least three times now. And you did actually say that it's not C++. Was just clarifying so OP didn't think he was learning the wrong thing.