How do I force users to input integers only in my program?

Pages: 12
Hey I'm really new to C++ and I'm need some help!
What is an efficient way to force users to enter only integers within a certain range(e.g. 1 to 10)?

int myFace;
cout << "Please rate my face from 1 to 10"
cin>> myFace;
if (myFace >7)
{
   cout << "I am handsome";
}

How do I force users to enter integers within 1 to 10 only? It seems like with programs like this if I enter an alphabet instead of number it screws up the whole output...
Last edited on
Write a function:

#include <ciso646>
#include <iostream>
#include <sstream>
#include <string>

std::istream& getline( std::istream& ins, int& n )
{
  n = 0;  // stupid C++11 standard behavior

// Read a line (terminated by ENTER|NEWLINE) from the user
  std::string s;
  if (std::getline( ins, s ))
  {
    // Get rid of any trailing whitespace
    s.erase( s.find_last_not_of( " \f\n\r\t\v" ) + 1 );

// Convert it to integer
    std::istringstream ss( s );
    ss >> n;

// Check to see that there is nothing left over
    if (!ss.eof())
      ins.setstate( std::ios::failbit );
  }
  return ins;
}

int main()
{
  using namespace std;
  int myFace;
  cout << "Please rate my face from 1 to 10: ";

while (!getline( cin, myFace ) or (myFace < 1) or (myFace > 10))
  {
    cin.clear();
    cout << "Try again: ";
  }

if (myFace > 7) cout << "Thanks!\n";
  else            cout << "Whatever, dude.\n";
}

Hope this helps.
@ Duoas He's a beginner for God's sake..
(ps - dont kill me for my solution please.. )

@OP

Try this:

char myFace;
cout << "\n Please rate my face from 1 to 10";
cin>> myFace;
if ((myFace >'7')&&(myFace<='10'))
   cout << "\n I am handsome";
else if ((myFace>='1')&&(myFace<='7'))  
   cout<<"\n Whatever, dude. ";
else 
   cout<<"\n Invalid Choice. ";
Last edited on
damn this was much harder than I thought! Thanks man!
@Pratik K
Sigh. Another 'too much for a beginner' argument.