Beginner C++ Help

Completely New to C++

Sorry if this is the wrong place for this but I'm completely new to C++. I've installed NetBeans 8.2 on my Windows laptop and was told I need a compiler, is this right?

So where do I go from here. How do I get started?

Is Visual C a better road to go down?

I can't seem to find any videos on You Tube for NetBeans 8.2 using C++.

I just want to get to the part where I can write some code and learn what I'm doing and advance.

Thanks!

Last edited on
Download Visual Studio Community 2017.
Then you don't have to worry about all the nitty gritty under the hood stuff right now,
and can just start coding.
Learn that stuff later when you get a better grasp on programming fundamentals.
Last edited on
The Integrated Development Environment (IDE) you choose is not all that important right now so long it builds and runs your programs. NetBeans 8.2 is an IDE, so you're all set. If YouTube tutorials is your source, then you can watch almost any C++ video tutorial regardless of what compiler they are using. So long your compiler is a C/C++ one, you should be able to follow along just fine.
It was just knowing the exact steps to take to get to the part where I can actually type code.

I have set up an account on the Microsoft Visual Studio 2017.

I'm just about to head to the library to get out some books on it. Any recommendations?
> I'm just about to head to the library to get out some books on it. Any recommendations?

https://stackoverflow.com/questions/388242/the-definitive-c-book-guide-and-list
> I'm just about to head to the library to get out some books on [Visual Studio]

This shouldn't be necessary...

> I'm just about to head to the library to get out some books on [C++]

@UK Marine's list is a good one.
To be able to program in C++ in Visual Studio 2017, do I need Visual Studio Code?
I've installed NetBeans 8.2 on my Windows laptop and was told I need a compiler, is this right?