Beginners - April 2014 (Page 3)

Measuring elapsed time

What is the best and/or simplest way to get and measure the difference between two times? I saw this but wanted to know if there was a better or different wa...
[1 reply] : Hi, time() returns time in seconds, while clock() returns time in mil... (by closed account 2AoiNwbp)
How to add in a random seed. with desired input (1,2)

hi i am doing a program that requires me to input a random seed (already chosen) and input a maximum of 5 friends to text, randomly choose one and output the ch...
[28 replies] Last: Your welcome =D (by closed account j3Rz8vqX)
by Cobain
Help with Classes & Objects

Hey guys,this is my first attempt at writing Object-Oriented code, so please forgive me if some parts of it appear muddled, they probably are. The problem I'...
[2 replies] Last: Worked perfectly, thanks for your help Peter87! (by Cobain)
Im getting a huge number which is incorrect. please help.

I am brand new to coding and am trying to learn it myself, Im a business major thinking about switching to computer science, I am stuck with an basic if else st...
[4 replies] Last: Thank you very much. :) (by closed account G20RfSEw)
2D Array Class constructor and operator[]

so to use in a bigger program I have to write a two dimensional array class, using a provided 1d array class (inheritance). I'm really stumped on writing the no...
[6 replies] Last: Thank you. Got it. That's the reason for line 15 in your code. It per... (by closed account D80DSL3A)
by Tieria
In class sample program demonstrating header files won't compile?

Hey guys, In my C++ course we have just started dealing with programs that are comprised of a header, implementation and a main file. I am trying to get a...
[7 replies] Last: Oh ok, thanks! (by Tieria)
Returning a pointer to a structure

Can someone help me fix this program, it need to return a pointer from this function, but i dont understand how to do so. #include <iostream> using names...