Generate non-repetitive random numbers without arrays

I'm fairly new to c++ and I'm making a random number generator program.

Update:
I've already solved the generator part but the program requires that the random numbers must never repeat. I'm not sure how to do that without arrays so i would prefer simple looping if possible. Any help is greatly appreciated! Here's what I have so far:

#include <iostream> 
#include <cstdlib>
#include <ctime>
#include <Windows.h>

using namespace std;

class Numbers {
private: int rndNum, howmany, ctr, even, odd;
		 char repeat;
public:  void GenerateRandNum();
};

void Numbers::GenerateRandNum()
{
	do {
		cout << "How many random numbers would you like to generate (1-100)? ";
		cin >> howmany;
		cout << endl << " The " << howmany << " random numbers are: " << endl;

srand(time(0));
		for (ctr = 1; ctr <= howmany; ctr++)
		{
			rndNum = rand() % 100 + 1;
			cout << rndNum << "\t";

if (rndNum % 2 == 0)
			{
				even++;
				cout << "Even Numbers: " << even << endl;

}
			else
			{
				odd++;
				cout << "Odd Numbers: " << odd << endl;
			}

cout << endl << "Press [Y/y] to continue." << endl;
			cin >> repeat;
			repeat = toupper(repeat);
		}

while (repeat == 'Y');
	}
}

int main()
{
	Numbers obj;
	obj.GenerateRandNum();
	system("pause");
	return 0;
}
Last edited on
Do not doublepost. The other thread: http://www.cplusplus.com/forum/beginner/241426/
You can't guarantee no repeats without some kind of storage.

For a small collection of random values, just use an array that has been randomized.
For a larger collection, use a Bloom filter (https://www.google.com/search?q=bloom+filter+c%2B%2B) or Hash set (http://www.cplusplus.com/reference/unordered_set/unordered_set/).

Good luck!
You can't guarantee no repeats without some kind of storage.

You can simply by making sure the next number is larger, until you run out of possible numbers. Yes I know that's not truly random....
Last edited on
it is as random as not doing it