Sams teach yourself C ++ lesson 3

Pages: 12
Hello everybody,

I have recently started learning programming with Sams book but I have really hit a wall on the last exercise of lesson 3. Can anyone help me through it?

1. Modify enum Yourcards in quiz question 4 to demonstrate that the value of Queen can be 45.
2.Write a program that demonstrates that the size of an unsigned integer and a normal integer are the same, and that both are smaller in size than a long integer.

Thank you beforehand,

Blake
1. ¿what the hell are you talking about? ¿do you expect us to read that particular book to help you?
2. that's wrong https://en.cppreference.com/w/cpp/language/types
Thank you for the link, and no need to be rude. I was hoping someone had read the book and could help since I'm new to this. Have a good day
Care to explain the problem, post some code, etc.?
Last edited on
@ne555 why is that wrong?

For the second one you need to use sizeof(), and for the first one can you show us the entire question?
@Nwb, it's wrong since it seems to assume that a long will always be bigger than a normal int, but all that's guaranteed by the standard is that the long won't be shorter than an int (and that it'll be at least 32-bits).
For example, on an x86_64 machine (i.e., one obeying the SYSV ABI), we'd have sizeof(int) == sizeof(long) when running 32-bit code. (The assumption's not even usually true.)
Last edited on
@tpb oh I didn't know that.. So within the limits of int, long int would occupy the same space?
Then in that case wouldn't it make sense to always use long long int and double instead of int and float respectively?

When it actually matters it's useful to have the different sizes available. I certainly wouldn't use long long all the time! I'm all for using double instead of float unless there's a good reason to use float (e.g., to save space in a large arrays).