General C++ Programming - February 2014 (Page 10)

Bank Simulation problem... error that I cannot find.

I'm doing the classic "bank simulation program" where we must simulate a Queue of customers in a bank, with x amount of tellers and allocate these customers to ...
[no replies]
Bitmasks

What are bitmasks and what are they good for? I looked online a bit, and it looks like they're commonly used for "flag values", but I don't see why you couldn't...
[1 reply] : I give an overflow overview and fairly in-depth explanation of how t... (by Disch)
Drwaing Problem

Hi, I am working in vc++ mfc. I draw the line using CDC *dc; the line is drawn successfully. But if I minimize or move the dialog box. The line is automatical...
[1 reply] : I'm no expert on MFC, but presumably there's some kind of redraw/repai... (by MikeyBoy)
typedef a function pointer

the c++ primer books says the syntax is like this: typedef bool (*cmpFcn) (const string &, const string &); so that cmpFcn is a name of type that is a p...
[2 replies] Last: Thanks, JLBorges, that is very clear explanation! (by northfly)
by mora15
Using a Void Function for Data Input.

i need help modifying this program to Create a function that has the following prototype: void getInputChar(string, char &);. The function should display the...
[1 reply] : why would it be a problem? #include <string> // don't forget to includ... (by coder777)
STL LIST::Random access

List<author*>catalog['Z'+1]; void includebook() { book*newbook=new book(); author*newauthor=new author(); newbook->name=getstring("Enter name of ...
[1 reply] : 'Z' resolves to a number: http://www.asciitable.com/ This List<au... (by coder777)
Can't change unique_ptr data with new information!

Hey yall I was hoping to get help with this program I have written. This is to create DVD objects and prompt the user for DVD information. This information is...
[4 replies] Last: Oh ok I got ya, appreciate the illustration too. Thanks again you've ... (by kamikaze pgmr88)