UNIX/Linux Programming - February 2012 (Page 3)

by morle
Different execution with and without gdb

Hi, I have read on a blog(don't remember which one)the experience of the owner that when executing a program that he made, it ended segfaulting. However, whe...
[3 replies] Last: I don't know but my thought was that the debugger slows down the progr... (by Peter87)
Set the variable via terminal -need help

Hi, I just started programming in linux today and I have problem with this simple source code. can you please help me, how can I change this code to do this on ...
[1 reply] : http://www.site.uottawa.ca/~lucia/courses/2131-05/labs/Lab3/CommandLin... (by Moschops)
[SOLVED] Which Thread library for secure argument passing ?

Hi all, I am a thread newbie. I read several tutorials and I experiment. pthread seems to not be secured with argument passing. Here is my test code : ...
[10 replies] Last: Thank you very much for the clarification and help. (by lalebarde)
developing a shell

Hi all, I am going through Unix(by Sumitabha Das) and C++(Robert Lafore).In order to get through the concepts in a better way I would like to develop a ...
[no replies]
I cannot undestand thic c++ code

Dear All, I am seeking the help of people who know c++ . Could anybody explain to me what is going on here ? ( i am tryin to learn ...
[7 replies] Last: oh I see ! thank you :)) (by knowledgeseeker11)
How can I add heartbeat functionality to asynchronous sockets client.

Hello, I have the sample code from chapter 16.2 of Sockets book by Richard Stevens which is an asynchronous client that reads/writes into sockets/stdin/stdou...
[5 replies] Last: Thank you again! (by vincegata)
"object of variable size may not be initialized"

here you see following listing in C : #include <stdio.h> #include <stdlib.h> #include <stdbool.h> #define addr 4194304 /* for-loop mit addr adresse...
[9 replies] Last: guys: he redeclared x so if on line 16 he just had x = true then it w... (by Aramil of Elixia)