Beginners - January 2013 (Page 3)

requesting assistance with homework problem

I am a beginner to c++ and am needing some assistance/suggestions on a procedure I have to write called void sort2(int& a, int& b) that swaps the values of a an...
[no replies]
by Ch1156
Help with virtual

Ok well this went from learning pointers to learning inline, virtual and some polymorphism lol. Thats fine with me though. Anyways From what i understand virtua...
[3 replies] Last: Just so people know, I am hoping that the OP is aiming at implementing... (by TheIdeasMan)
Issue with control mechanism between functions

Below are two functions, the first function, Show, is used to display dates. The following function is used to control the format with which they are displayed....
[2 replies] Last: Zhuge, Thank you. I had no idea one could do something like that! (by TaytayB)
Help with code!

So I have to ask the user what file they want to open up and what file they want to write too. With the file they open up I have to put those values into an arr...
[11 replies] Last: Ok lol... I just fixed that part too, so now I have it dumping the arr... (by bbesase)
LPDWORD, LPWORD, DWORD etc

what exactly are those? I see them every where in some more "advanced" functions, such as RegCreateKeyEx etc, but I never really understood why exactly are they...
[1 reply] : Those are variable types that you'll get very familiar with if you sta... (by newbieg)
Need help with my first program.

What we are supposed to do is answer the question "How far do we have to go to add 1,2,3,4,5,6... to reach 25000? The program is supposed to print out the sum a...
[15 replies] Last: That's what I'm doing. My exact method is gcc -O program untitled.cpp ... (by brentmcgehee)
Vector of Classes - Scope Issue?

I'm coding a basic student data read/write system. At the moment this won't have any file I/O, so it is pretty basic. I'm having an issue with the structure of ...