General C++ Programming - September 2019 (Page 6)

Shell project for portfolio

Hello, I'm a student starting my 3rd year in CS. I haven't landed a job yet, so I have no experience apart from assignments given by the university, so I thoug...
[2 replies] Last: there is much OS and little C++ in a shell. Unless you go all-in, a ... (by jonnin)
Segfault while reading/writing to binary files

Hi guys, I'm using the g++ compiler on a Ubuntu virtual machine it could be 32 bit but not too sure on that one, any how, it( writing and reading from bin...
[6 replies] Last: > also lets say I wanted to create some c style strings on the stack i... (by ne555)
How would I convert a string to a float?

Having trouble converting a string to a float in main in this program. Using Visual Studio 2017. Any ideas how to proceed? //header file: Rectangle.h #ifn...
[17 replies] Last: > Only thing I need now is error checking for not accepting letters as... (by JLBorges)
by Frrag
Reading from file

Hello, I have problem with reading from the prices.txt file (file look like this) https://pastebin.com/EP5awrny The problem is when I read the file I want to...
[1 reply] : Show us what you've tried. (by Ganado)
How to detect a text in output?

For example: I get output like this (2nd below) and I want to output cout << new8.xml <<endl; after. Is it possible? <file>new0.xml</file> ...
[10 replies] Last: Only if you can guarantee no one will EVER touch any of the files, els... (by Duthomhas)
Inheritance - 2 Classes - Questions

I am trying to learn more by practicing doing simple exercises on classes. - I have made a Player class which is player.h and player.cpp. - I have made Enem...
[3 replies] Last: #include <iostream> struct properties // properties common to more ... (by JLBorges)
lengthly example on how to make save points please

Hi, I would like to know how to make save points in a script so the saved data can be accessed at a later time, i would like to see the code and examples of use...