Beginners - July 2019 (Page 3)

Uinitialized Local variable in Visual Studios ?

The program is supposed to work as a basic Magic 8 ball. I built it in a sandbox and made sure it worked. The only feedback there was a warning but not an error...
[4 replies] Last: and there you have just one of the many problems caused by global vari... (by jonnin)
Using ESBTL and PDB files

So, I'd just like to preface my post by saying that I'm a biological scientist, and I have very little experience in programming (I've done some writing in Matl...
[7 replies] Last: Thank you! Okay, I think I'm almost there. However, I'm having a pro... (by JdittoJ)
Anyone with java knowledge that can help me convert code to C++

Hello, Could someone help me convert this? import java.util.Scanner; public class AssignGrades { public static void main(String args) { ...
[2 replies] Last: of all the code in the world to convert, you picked this?! If you have... (by jonnin)
C++ Counting Matched Numbers help

I'm trying to get an output as this: Enter 6 numbers into the first array: 5 3 8 2 9 4 Enter 6 numbers into the second array: 1 4 5 2 7 6 There are 3 matched...
[12 replies] Last: Thanks for the help. (by scooter28)
by atoken
Time conversion and difference

So I am writing a program that is basically a time clock. It takes the date and makes that the name of the document that store the info and it takes the time yo...
[1 reply] : I would begin by suggesting you switch to std::chrono, follow some tut... (by Niccolo)
Should I be using nested classes here?

Hi If I want a class A to have an object of type Class B but objects of type B cannot be instantiated outside of class A, is this best achieved by making class...
[1 reply] : "Best" I'd say is subjective. There might be reasons you want to separ... (by Ganado)
Seekp() effects

from what I’ve heard, seekp() takes what is essentially your cursor and moves it to a new place in relation to the beginning of a stream. Could I use it to re...