General C++ Programming - May 2013

"Magic Matrix" Calculations issue

I am attempting to create a program which calculates the product of 4 vertical values in the matrix....
[2 replies] Last: Ahh brilliant of me that was. Yes I will make it pretty once I get ... (by derkthar)
binary number input

I am new to C++ language, could any one help me to figure out " how to take binary number as an inpu...
[5 replies] Last: Here you go. It validates input and formats the output. It's probably ... (by h4ckb0x7)
** operator

A very basic question. What does the ** operator in C++ do? For example: int **matrix; It a...
[2 replies] Last: In a declaration like int** matrix; * isn't an operator, it's a d... (by andywestken)
Sentence Capitalizer

From the textbook: Write a function that accepts a pointer to a C-String as an argument and capit...
[2 replies] Last: Maybe? sentence == '.' Like on line 35 and 41? Edit: Actually,... (by andywestken)
by Daleth
Setting up a makefile

IDE: Code::Blocks v12 Compiler: g++ I am waaaaay out of my comfort zone here. I am trying to write...
[2 replies] Last: Oop, sorry. That was a typo. And thanks. (by Daleth)
Can anyone with 64bits computer help out?

I am currently studying a Stanford course by myself for fun. It provides executables containing samp...
[2 replies] Last: hmm, there aren't any sources to the homework problems, except for the... (by andrenvq57)
Faster memcpy routine

//It can be further enhanced by making it 64bit. unsigned long copy_linear(void* read,void* wri...
[11 replies] Last: OP will not be able to produce code faster than standard strxxx(), mem... (by Duoas)
by Daleth
"Translation" vs. "Compilation" unit

Which is the correct term? I've seen both thrown around, but a couple times I see people correcting ...
[2 replies] Last: The definition is pretty much unchanged across C and C++ language defi... (by Cubbi)
Using Char in a Menu/While Loop