Beginners - August 2012 (Page 6)

time complexity of sorting algorithm

I am a novice C++ programmer. Can any body tell me which one is more efficient- Merge sort or quick...
[1 reply] : it's depend on what kind of data you wanted to sort.... In generally q... (by HiteshVaghani1)
Online Tutorial vs. Quality Book

We are having a debate on another forum and a member is telling me online tutorials are much better ...
[4 replies] Last: I think online tutorials are a great source of material to self teach.... (by blueberry)
by samrux
String library or char* string?

What is better/more efficient and in what cases? String from the library or a char string (char*)?
[5 replies] Last: If all you need is to reference a string literal, without manipulating... (by Cubbi)
Could you explain how this works..?

I somewhat have an idea how it works. But is it really that easy to 'accidently' overwrite memory li...
[8 replies] Last: Yeah. You can find out where the page starts by rounding down to the n... (by Athar)
trying to loop my entire program (while true)

Hey everyone, I'm trying to loop my entire program by encapsulating it in while true braces. A...
[5 replies] Last: yeah it works for me, I hope it doesn't work for me and only me lol. ... (by RastaWolf)
something wrong!!

void kbc::sce() // member function of class kbc { clrscr(); ifstream ifs("SCORE.TXT"); // a fi...
[8 replies] Last: Because you didn't read the input. It remains in the buffer. You need ... (by ne555)
by samrux
Kongregate Hacks

1.-Some illegal stuff going on here. Reported. 2.-A guy in his first post saying he made something (...
[no replies]
Problem with Visual C++

Hey all! This is probably a really basic problem, but it's one I'm having trouble resolving. I just ...
[2 replies] Last: I don't use Visual C++, so I can't really tell, but you probably have ... (by samrux)
resizing a string object

Hi - I'm constructing a string object by an initial assignment and a large number of concatenatio...