Windows Programming - July 2013 (Page 4)

by vxb
Create COM object in a separate thread

I create a worker thread in an MFC GUI application.In the thread I do CoInitialize and then try create a COM object. The CreateInstance hangs until the main thr...
[2 replies] Last: I forgot to mention that the object I'm having problems with is derive... (by vxb)
How can my program know if Admin is log out

I wrote a program to imitate windows 8 to make my windows xp start faster: (newshutdown.bat) @cmd /c sc create -- binPath= "cmd /c start C:/shutdownnow.exe" ...
[no replies]
by i223a
On-Screen Keyboard

I am trying to write a program similar to the Windows On-Screen Keyboard. Background: Using System::Windows::Forms TopMost has been set to true. I not...
[10 replies] Last: SpaceWorm, That was very helpful. TY very much. (by i223a)
Dialog Boxes Help

Okay, I am a beginner -- obviously -- to the WIN32 API, and I am having trouble with dialog boxes. I can give you the error reports, and both my resource script...
[11 replies] Last: Not second line, my mistake. The style line of the dialog box. Which s... (by MrSelfDestruct)
Simple question - creating a new window

Newbie to the win32api, what I'm trying to do is have my app replace the contents of a window, or create a new popup window when a button is pressed. What I ...
[2 replies] Last: Hi, thanks for the reply. I've done some further investigating into t... (by roger911)
by lmsmi1
Proper Measurements?

I'm designing a GUI with ResEdit then porting the coordinates and sizes of the controls I've implemented into the GUI. However there is one little problem: the ...
[3 replies] Last: You can export a version of your code as a C/C++ code, rather than a r... (by TwilightSpectre)
SQL programming: need a start

I have been offered to help out with a website, but I need an SQL library. they are using Navicat for MySQLite. I am not exactly sure what I need... Any he...