Windows Programming - September 2012 (Page 5)

Limiting time on user input.

Hello, I am currently working on a text based game( console app ) written in c++. For one part of the game I would like to display a letter to the user then giv...
[2 replies] Last: How about Timer class from some third party, or you create yourself fo... (by acn)
Confused about Edit Boxes

Heya there, I can create an edit box just fine, but however when I want to try and grab the value from it...it all goes wrong. Code is below. #include <w...
[7 replies] Last: Right, ok. So I have got the MessageBox() working such as this... TC... (by lostprophetpunk)
Problem with the WINAPI - Violation

Hi, today i started programming a little for Windows. So my first application should be a tool for listing all windows and getting the name of the executabl...
[2 replies] Last: Thank you. I think there there is a bug in my visual studio. Because i... (by Laokoon)
by Aceix
Difference between...

I'm new to windows programming, and therefore want to know the difference between a parent window and an owner window?
[3 replies] Last: The word Parent / Owner is most often the same . When the window has... (by sujayg)
Do something on keypress

I've made a form, that you need to click a button to submit(guess a word actually). Your word is written in an editbox. I was wondering how could I submit it a...
[3 replies] Last: So, there is an editbox1 where the user inputs a value and u want to p... (by soranz)
Setting .ico file as custom icon for button

I tried using BS_OWNERDRAW as button style and then in WM_DRAWITEM, I tried using DrawIcon() to draw .ico file was my plan wrong and should I use some other fu...
[3 replies] Last: yes and i tried using code::blocks I created button like this: ... (by Silvestar)
Help using Gdi32.lib

hey C++ forums again, This time i am struggling with using the Gdi32.lib i can link and every thing but do not know how to use it because i am looking at game...