Lounge - June 2019

Spam report messages

Does anyone read them? Does it matter that I just hit a few random dfqr with my left hand with my right hand poised on the mouse button hovering over submit?
[6 replies] Last: onomatopoeia...that's what cats do. (by closed account z05DSL3A)
At the third stroke, it will be 12:30:00 precisely

Curiosity about this forum's clock drift. Edit: 12:33:00 Last edited on Jun 26, 2019 at 12:38pm Edit: 09:00:00 - Sun 14/07/2019
[2 replies] Last: The drift has been getting worse over time. Some months ago it use to ... (by zapshe)
by Nndisy
do I need a Java or C++ course?

I am an undergraduate in actuarial science. I have taken a programming course in Visual Basic. I am just not so sure if I need to take another one in Java or C+...
[9 replies] Last: SQL is likely important (database control and access), especially if y... (by jonnin)
by Borneq
Legality of reverse engineering of database file specification

I wanna write free and open source Disk Catlog program like WhereIsIt.Usually files from WhereIsIt are exported to xml and some programs as WinCatalog uses this...
[9 replies] Last: Well, if it's patented there's no need to reverse engineer it. The det... (by helios)
Coding wise, why is internet explorer rather slow?

Most browsers today are made with the very language this site is based on, c++. I read older internet explorer was made with javascript, is this the cause of it...
[2 replies] Last: "The internet" is not the same beast it was 15, 10, or even 5 years ag... (by Duthomhas)
Opinion on this claim (1,2,3,4)

A christian website said In recent years, there have been many findings of “wondrously preserved” biological materials in supposedly ancient rock layers a...
[79 replies] Last: I see. I haven't bought an external keyboard to use since that would b... (by zapshe)
The matter of using libido triggering images in order to make people click an article (1,2,3,...,5,6,7,8)